Street Style / Trends

What Do You Think About PALAZZO PANTS?

palazzo-pantsWhen a trend like this comes along, or its style is reinvented – I’m looking at you PALAZZO PANTS – it’s only normal some of us are left with the ‘looking at’, or perhaps just a raised eyebrow.

That not all trends are for everyone (as much as one loves fashion) is only common sense. And truth. Personally I feel this is the case of these loose, large, flowy pants of the 60’s and 70’s. If you’re short, forget about them. If you’re skinny and tall, I call it quits. Unless you wanna channel a willow in the wind, which of course is acceptable if we’re to look at all the beautiful models looking rather high fashion editorial (read hobo-chic) in these, rather than anything else. But, to each their own. street-style-loose-trousersSo, left with a raised eyebrow and a massive indecision regarding these trousers I decided to split my personal self into 2 personas. One who’s not too keen on these, and the other who’s considering giving them a try. Gasp. Yet upon embarking on this split personality shit I am faced with having to find greatness where it’s not. At first sight at least. For me. street-style-palazzo-pants-1Because I’d like to finish today’s post on a positive note, let’s kick off on the… errrr… less positive side of these palazzos and get it over with.

Clock’s ticking…

So over 5 minutes have passed from the aforementioned statement, and still I can’t put my finger on my dislike. Frankly it has to do with just some styles of these palazzos, and how horrendous (in my eyes) they look with oversized tops and loose long hair. OK. This sophisticated hobo trend is big now. I get it. But… I don’t. street-style-palazzo-pants-lookAnd don’t even get me started on the cropped version of these pallazzo pants… Yeah, they’re funky, and different and cool (in some parallel universe, or even this one, in which case I must be living in a different dimension)… but… let’s just say my eyebrow is still up to my hairline on this one. street-style-cropped-palazzo-pantsAt the end of the day I admit to being fully biased, as a tall thin framed woman. I’d look bloody ridiculous in these. Yet… as fashion has it… never say never. It wouldn’t be the 1st time I’d strut in some fancy fad thinking I’m the next Kate Moss, when in fact I’m hardly the next best version on myself on on my worst style day.

But… until the change of mind happens, if it will, I stand by my palazzo dislike. loose-stripe-pantsAs life has taught us, each story has two sides. Such is the case of the palazzo pants. I’m not an idiot (at least not this minute) so I can understand the frenzy and coolness of this pants trend for 2014 Spring & Summer. Doh.

Flowy silky soft fabrics, that just blow in the summer wind, making you feel irresistibly sexy and sophisticated. A bit of sheerness, some funky wild prints and patterns – the palazzo pants look for summer or spring can look very effortless and chic. It’s like wearing a maxi skirt while you’re vacationing in the South of France. summer-look-palazzo-pantsThis by-the-sea-style looks great with flats, gladiator sandals, a cropped top or even (can’t believe I’m saying this) a loose top, cause it’s got that bohemian vibe to it. palazzo-pants-street-style-Another palazzo pants style I kinda am OK with are the monochromatic high wasted ones with side pockets. Think professional woman in summer. It’s simple but classy, with a bit of that 70’s vibe to it. palazzo-pants-trend-2014wearing-palazzo-pantsRegarding the heels: whatever floats your boat. I love how simple stiletto sandals look with these, other than that I think it’s too bulky and a bit too much, too harsh. sheer-palazzo-pants-lookStill… what do I know. A photo can speak so much more than I can (not that that’s very hard to do) so let’s have a look: 2014-summer-trend-palazzo-pants89790_20140113013741palazzo panta zarapalazzo-pants-printspalazzo-pants-street-style- (2)palazzo-pants-streetstylepalazzosstreet-style-large-pantsstreet-style-loose-palazzo-pantsstreet-style-palazzo=panysstreet-style-palazzo-pantsstreet-style-palazzo-pants-2street-style-palazzo-pants-spring-2014street-style-palazzo-pants-spring-2014-trendstreet-style-palazzo-pants-spring-2014-trendstreet-style-palazzo-pants-summer-lookstreet-style-palazzo-pants-trendstreet-style-palazzosstreet-style-palazzo-trousersstreet-style-white-palazzo-pantssummer-style-palazzo-pantsYeah. Let’s just say my eyebrow in no longer as high as my hairline right now… but I don’t know about rushing off to get the latest palazzos out there. I might though. They do look pretty amazing in those photos.

Have a lovely weekend! xoxo

16 thoughts on “What Do You Think About PALAZZO PANTS?

  1. i actually love the palazzo! i’m biased, i got a pair a couple of summers ago. i certainly can’t wear them often since they’re such a statement pant, but i love the easy breezy feel! i typically pair mine with something more fitted up top to keep the waist defined in proportion to such baggy bottoms

    • this look you’re talking about for summer I LOVE! i’m considering getting a pair of these baggies (printed or in a bright color) for summer. It’s one of my fave looks. Thanks. btw you should do a post with these when it gets warmer. U’d look amazing! xoxo

  2. I think you have to be REALLY tall to wear them. I like some of these, but I don’t really care for them too much except as vacation or beach wear. The white ones shown here look particularly nice though.

  3. Is there any way for a petite person to pull these off? I am like 5’1 and weigh 107 lbs atm.i love these , I am a beach LOVER !!! So any advice would be great 🙂

  4. I’ve arrived late to the discussion and to the pants…I saw some at Target and bought a couple of pair, and then went back and bought more and see they are popping up everywhere now. I’m tall and Rubenesque and I love the long lengths (which on me end up being perfect for flats), and the patterns tend to camo body flaws and anything like a panty line. They are soooo comfortable…mine are with a wide elastic waist.

    In some of your photos they are exaggerated in their bagginess and longness and those I don’t like at all. I’m still not totally sure what type of top looks best with them for a heavier woman…will have to experiment.

    I disagree about them being just beachwear. I think they will go anywhere depending on how you accessorize, and the type of top and shoes…dress them up or dress them down but take them everywhere.

Leave a comment