Looks / Street Style

What To Wear: Trousers OR Skirt For Fashion & Business Event?

When a fashion meets business event takes place and one is invited to partake, my mind races off to clothes, styles, looks. Yeah, pretty much a case of fashion obsession, which in all honesty is quite normal. Are we not fashion bloggers who love a great style? Exactly. Just a few days ago I got invited to such an event in my home country Romania in Oradea and I am so very excited to go next week, take the pulse of the fashion scene and have an excuse for some traveling. That being said, I confess in all predictability that besides my work at this event (which, it goes without saying, is always under control (hopefully): camera, laptop, networking, interviews, writing, et all) I am stressing (in a good way) over what to wear. I am attending the fashion show & wine tasting, but it’s all part of this huge business gathering… so I would assume keeping it classic is the key. But you know me… I have got to be a bit edgy or put a slight twist to any classic or too smart/elegant outfit. To me they are boring, or just not my exact cup of tea, hence my need to jazz it up a bit. Still I do not wish to stand out on ridiculousness. God forbid everyone is wearing black and I turn up in a fantasy pink gown. Lol. Joking. Being a daytime happening with a touch of fashion I will try to keep it classic with a twist. Think Olivia Palermo style. What I do not know yet… and would love a little help out is to go for trousers or skirt? street-stylestreet-style-dress (3)Before the battle of the bottoms begins note that I will not make any business nor weather compromise and will not part with my bright pink-red’ish heels (my classic pumps) & my statement necklace. AND I will give red lips a go 🙂 That being said, on one hand I am considering wearing statement trousers: floral print, graphic, black & white, with side pockets, fitted (not quite skinny), think tailored suit-style. Regarding the top I may go for a silky blouse or shirt, OR I would love to don a black leather top, an uber fun sweatshirt or plain t-shirt that would look so fantastic with the statement necklace & the red lips, right? Blazer, cool bag, bracelets, rings & great nails to pull it all together. Some street style photos for inspiration 🙂

Trousers looks for Fashion/Business Event:  flared-pants-business-lookbusiness-style-red-shoesbusiness-suit-street-stylecolored-trousers-street-stylebaroque-look-bussiness-styleelegant-stylelether=pants-office-styleoffice-look-street-styleoffice-style-street-styleCelebrity Sightings At LFW A/W 2012 - February 19, 2012street-style (2)white-heels-pants-blazerOn the other hand, skirts / dresses always look great. My favorites are pencil skirts with sweatshirts  – which is another great option, or a mismatched printed skirt & top. Maxi dresses or skirts may just be too much, but I adore them. Here are a few photos for inspiration 🙂

Skirts & Dresses looks for Event: head-toe-printmiroslava-duma-dressoffice-dress-street-styleolivia-palermo-skirtolivia-palermo-business-stylestreet-style-dress (2)street-style-dressstreet-style-floral-skirtstreet-style-leather-dressstreet-style-maxi-dressstreet-style-printed-dressstreet-style-skirt-for-eventThough I can totally put together a great look with what I already have, there’s nothing like a great excuse to go shopping, even for just a top or a pair of trousers. Ah… So yes I shall be hitting the mall over the weekend and see if anything fantastic catches my eye. I mean these women in the photos look fabulous but to get some of these looks one might just have to break the bank. I always say style is not about the price/designer tags but about owning it! It’s not what you wear it’s HOW you wear it, right?

Have a great weekend & bank holidays lovelies & Happy Easter! xoxo

10 thoughts on “What To Wear: Trousers OR Skirt For Fashion & Business Event?

  1. I’ve been mulling over this post all day…. and I don’t know, I would probably let the weather be the deciding factor but that isn’t very adventurous. Okay I’m going with a great pair of pants because summer is coming and it will get warmer so might as well have some fun with pants now!

    • hey Caroline, think I’m gonna go for trousers, more comfy, more relaxed, yet quite chic and effortless! And you’re right, summer is almost here (well let’s hope so) and i should make the best of trousers while i can. Thanks 🙂 xoxo

  2. Pingback: MAXI-DRESS-TUESDAY | Fashion She Loves Blog

  3. I do agree that from a supplies point of scene, this cause a bit the same exclusiveness by making your products only recognizable to those in the knee, it is very far remote from the complete guerilla strategy employment in the account book by the clothes brand to trick their product.

Leave a comment